PRAISE GEMS – BUT I DID NOT DO SO

Posted by Kwasi Asante Annor on November 15, 2016

Nehemiah 5:15
But the former governors who had been before me laid burdens on the people, and took from them bread and wine, besides forty shekels of silver; yes, even their servants bore rule over the people, but I did not do so, because of the fear of God.

Image result for Nehemiah 5:15

Nehemiah distinguished himself as a leader extraordinaire.

He showed that leadership is not all about basking in privileges but committing oneself fully to the corporate goal of the entity.

Earlier on, his predecessors had set a certain kind of precedence: laying burdens on the people, levying them heavily and so on.

But out of reverence for the Lord, Nehemiah says: I DID NOT DO SO.

Beloved, God is looking for men and women who can exercise self control, restrain themselves and hold their own without being swayed.

Image result for abusive leadershipThe phrase “I DID NOT DO SO” means Nehemiah showed strong mental fortitude, determined body check and conditioned emotional balance.

This enabled him not to fall prey to the temptations of abusive leadership.

This is the kind of people God is looking for like Daniel who purposed in his heart not to defile himself with any portion of the King’s meat.

Who are the men and women who would say ‘I will not do so because I fear God’

This morning, may God enlist you into the army of incorruptible public servants who would not siphon the public pursue.

May we join the queue of men and women with sound morals who won’t fall for any form of lisencious advances.

Men and women who would not be envious of each other to slander, backbite and wrongly accuse each other.

Men and women who won’t seek the downfall of someone and use it as a platform for one’s elevation.

Nehemiah succeeded in not following the steps of his predecessors because the seed of godly fear was flourishing in him.

With that same seed dwelling in you backed by the husbandman called the Holy Ghost, you can also boldly say “I DID NOT DO SO”. selah

SING ALONG
I am an example
I am an example of Christ
I am an example to all

Song credit: Emma Boate

Follow us on Twitter:@sofoannor